top of page



Buenos Aires, Argentina


Founded 400 years ago along the River Plate as the ‘Paris of South America’, Buenos Aires is one of the world’s most elegant and exciting cities. Designed around wide boulevards that lead to large squares and manicured public parks, Buenos Aires has a decidedly European feel and is a modern centre of art and culture. The city is a remarkable blend of charming Old World traditions, such as the lively Italian Boca district, within a vibrant, urban centre. From the Colon Opera House, to the San Telmo Antique Market, to cruises along the fashionable riverside neighbourhoods of Olivos, San Isidro and San Fernando – Buenos Aires is a diverse city with lots to see.

Ushuaia, Argentina


Ushuaia dates from 1870, when the Anglican South American Missionary Society decided to place the archipelago’s first permanent European settlement here. Pioneer missionary Thomas Bridges and his descendants have left an enduring legacy in Bridge’s Yahgan (Yámana) dictionary, the memoir of his son Lucas, and the family estancia at nearby Harberton (sadly, the Yahgans whom Thomas Bridges hoped to save succumbed to introduce diseases and conflict with other settlers).

Mendoza, Argentina


Located in Mendoza Province just east of the mighty Andes. Greater Mendoza is the largest wine producing area in Latin America and Mendoza is one of nine cities worldwide in the network of Great Capitals of Wine and is an emerging hotspot for wine tourism.


The city is a stopover for climbers preparing for Aconcagua ( the highest mountain in the Western Hemisphere). Anyone interested in hiking, rafting, horseback riding and of course mountaineering will feel right at home in Mendoza. Home to many musuems, including the El Museo Nacional de Vino (National Wine Musuem).


Mendoza was chosen in 1997 by French director Jean-Jacques Annaud for the filming of the movie "Seven years in Tibet" and built dozens of spectacular sets in the foothills of the Andes including the recreation of the Tibetan capital city of Lhasa.


Only two hours by air from Buenos Aires, Mendoza is a can't miss destination.

Montevideo. Uruguay


The capital, the largest city, (half of Uruguay's 2.6 million people live here) and the chief port of Uruguay this chic capital is located on the northern bank of the Rio de la Plata (the widest river in the world). Steeped in history, Montevideo has both a rich cultural and architectural heritage.

"Ciudad Vieja" includes the city's oldest buildings, art galleries, musuems, restaurants and nightclubs. Take in the city's Art Deco buildings, the three important public squares and the Palacio Municipal. The Gaucho museum is just one of several museums awaiting you. There are four major shopping complexes and numerous parks for exploring and relaxing.

For the athletic who enjoy long walks, jogging or skating the Rambla is a must. This avenue runs the entire coastline of Montevideo and is an important site for recreation and leisure for the locals and tourists alike. This diverse and cosmopolitan capital of Uruguay is a must visit destination and is a 3 hour ferry ride from Buenos Aires.

Puerto Madryn. Chubut. Argentina


Puerto Madryn, in the Patagonian province of Chubut, is one of Argentina’s fastest growing cities. At present, the population is approximately 50,000 inhabitants. A deep water port, a commercial centre, and a tourism destination, Puerto Madryn is a popular resort destination for beaches, sports and wildlife excursions.

It is the gateway to the Peninsula Valdés, a wildlife sanctuary for birds and marine species, including rheas, oystercatchers, flamingos, egrets, whales, sea elephants, sea lions, Magellanic penguins, cormorants, petrels and many other species of wildlife.

In addition, Puerto Madryn has an interesting history. Long after Spanish explorers landed, Welsh colonists who left Great Britain seeking autonomy for their culture and language also settled in this area. The original settlers came ashore in July 1865 and named their first settlement Porth Madryn in honour of Baron Madryn of Wales. Over time, the colonists spread and founded other towns, maintaining their language, customs and architectural styles. While other cities in the province retain much of their Welsh heritage, in Puerto Madryn, only the street names remain.

Iguazú Falls


Taller than Niagara Falls and twice as wide with 275 cascades spread in a horseshoe shape over almost two miles of the Iguazu River, Iguazu Falls are the result of a volcanic eruption which left a large crack in the earth. Iguazu Falls, called Foz do Iguaça in Brazilian and Cataratas del Iguazu in Spanish, lie on the Argentina-Brazil border and are a Unesco World Natural Heritage Site. During the rainy season of November to March, the rate of flow of water going over the falls may reach 450,000 cubic feet (12,750 cubic metres) per second.


These matters of fact details do nothing to describe the grandeur of the falls, the tremendous amount of water thunders down 269 feet. Iguazu Falls are divided by various islands into separate waterfalls. One of the best known is Devil’s Throat or Gargantua del Diablo with its perpetual spray high over the falls. Other notable falls are the San Martin, Bosetti and Bernabe Mendez.

bottom of page